
Law 36 – LBW 
 
Perhaps the most contentious manner of dismissal for a batsman! 
 
How well do you know this Law of Cricket?? 
 

 
 
 
Consider the 4 deliveries A, B, C & D. 
 
In the above diagram, the solid lines show the paths of the 4 deliveries, the solid 
circles indicate where the balls pitched in each case, the crosses where they hit the 
batsman’s pad and the dotted lines their anticipated/projected paths had they been 
allowed to continue unobstructed. 
 
All would have hit and broken the wicket had they not struck the batsman on the pad. 
 
Which deliveries A, B, C & D and under what extra conditions, if any, should an LBW 
appeal be upheld by the umpire? 
 
 
Answers 
 
Delivery D:  Not Out 
Under no circumstances can a batsman be given out LBW to a ball that pitches 
outside the line of his leg stump. 
 
Delivery C & B: Out 
Although delivery B has pitched outside the line of the off stump, the batsman has 
been hit while in line wicket-to-wicket and should therefore be given out, whether 
attempting a stroke or not. 
 
Delivery A:   
The batsman may be given out only if, in the opinion of the umpire, he is deemed to 
have attempted to play no stroke at the delivery.  If, on the other hand, a stroke is 
made in an attempt to play the ball, he is to be given not out. 
 
 


